Anti War Protest in Toronto and Syria Falling Apart

Today, there was a protest in Toronto to raise our voices against war! It was awesome and I learnt some really interesting stuff.

In fact, Ali Mullah said something very interesting in his speech today and it really got me thinking.

He was discussing problems in the Middle East and he asked us, (I’m paraphrasing), if the Conservative party were to be funded by China, what would be the reaction?

If a party in the U.S.A. were to be funded by a foreign country, there would be riots! Confusion would ensue, why? If said party were to be funded by another country, then that party would also have to serve that country’s interests.

Evidently, this would be totally wrong. However, this is happening. Not here in Canada, not in the U.S.A., it is being done elsewhere. It is a terrible crime and lo and behold, the U.S. along with it’s allies is the perpetrator. In the U.S. it would be terrible if a party were to be funded by a foreign country, but it’s totally fine for the U.S. to fund groups inside of other countries.

And all this time. While Ali Mullah explained this, I was in awe. I had never thought about it this way. This brings to mind the situation in Syria.

 Imagine a world, where the West did not fund the “Free Syrian Army”

I mean, regardless of all the arguments and controversy about the situation in Syria. It cannot be denied that it is wrong to support anarchist groups in a foreign country!

Let me, emphasize on this through a different point. This morning’s edition of the Toronto Star, published an article about the economic condition in Syria.

To briefly summarize, the economic situation in Syria is terrible. Business is at an all time low, the currency is plummeting, and as the Toronto Star puts it, “salad has become a luxury”. Furthermore, the country is under tough sanctions.

Sanctions, that no newspaper here has mentioned for the past couple of months! Webster Tarpley was all about them, that video is still in the side bar to the right -> He told us about these sanctions. No one else did.

Webster Tarpley, told us a long time ago that the people of Homs wanted oil! They did not want the regime to topple, all they wanted was oil so that they could heat their homes (this is from last winter). Now winter is on it’s way again. The people need oil, the West won’t let them get it. Sanctions are preventing them from getting oil!

A I learned at the protest. Sanctions are not going to hurt Assad, they are going to hurt the people! We have seen it in the past, the New York Times reported back in 1995, that 576,000 Iraqi children died because of security council imposed sanctions. What can I say?

So, let me conclude. Syria has been devastated. It has been wrecked through every means possible. The sad part is, that it happened a long time ago. Only now, are the newspapers starting to admit it.

In fact, I was surprised, today the Toronto Star called the “revolution” in Syria a civil war!

Again, what can I say? I called it. Sadly, it’s worse than that. People are being slaughtered in Syria. Journalists are being killed. The FSA is not some glorious army, it is a band of Al-Qaeda extremists. Maybe you don’t agree with me, maybe you believe the FSA is really a group of angels sent by God: but just think, is it right for other countries to intervene into another countries internal affairs?

For today, that is all. I know that I have not been posting much recently. However, I have been really busy with school, so I will most likely only be able to post on weekends. Also, I have been reading a novel “A Thousand Splendid Suns” by Khaled Hosseini, it is a wonderful novel to do with Afghanistan and I will be discussing that novel soon. Lastly, I picked up a communist “newspaper” today at the protest and it is actually very interesting, so I will be discussing that later on as well.

Leave a Reply

