The Barber Who Didn’t Believe in God

If God is Caring and is the All-Powerful, then why are innocent people oppressed?!?

That was the question that was asked of me. It was a good question. I had a good answer : )

I for one am a strong believer in a one and only God. I believe that he is the Creator, and I acknowledge that without God I would be nothing.

The question presented above seems to be a very popular argument and so let me present an answer to the question.

A man went to a barbershop for a hair cut and beard trim. As the barber began to work, they started up a good conversation. They talked about many things until they came to the subject of God.

The barber said: “I don’t believe that God exists.”

“Why are you saying that?” asked the customer.

“Well! You just have to look outside to see that. Tell me, if HE existed would there be so many sick people, abandoned children? If HE existed there wouldn’t be pain and suffering. I can’t imagine a loving God who would allow all these bad things to happen.”

The customer thought for a moment but kept quiet, not wanting to start an argument. The barber finished his job and the customer left. Out in the street he saw a man with long, stringy, dirty hair and an untrimmed beard.

He looked filthy!

The customer turned back and entered the barbershop again saying out loud: “You know what! Barbers don’t exist!”

Surprised the barber said: “How can you say that? I’m here, I just worked on you!”

No they don’t!” exclaimed the customer. “If they did, there wouldn’t be any people with dirty long hair and untrimmed beards like the man I just saw outside.”

Ah, but barbers DO EXIST!” the barber insisted. “It’s just that people don’t come to me.”

You see!” affirmed the customer. That’s the point! God too, DOES EXIST! What happens is, the people don’t go to HIM or look for HIM. That’s why there is so much pain and suffering in the world.”

I think that story is a beautiful explanation of why our world is so troubled today. The fact of the matter is that people do not believe in God. Many people praise God and beg him for help in times of need, but during prosperous times everyone forgets about God.

Continuing with the barber analogy, a barber cannot cut your hair if you squirm around, or do not sit still. You have to cooperate with the barber to have your hair cut properly.

Just like that, you have got to follow God’s rules! I can guarantee that every Abrahamic religion promotes peace and tranquillity. I am confident that any true follower of Judaism would condemn the siege on Gaza. People are starving and are being denied medical supplies in Gaza. If those Zionist leaders really believed in God, then they would never lay siege on Gaza.

All those innocent people starving in Africa. Well, (*surprise *surprise) North America uses the most of the world’s resources. Everywhere I go I see people wasting food. Buying a large fries and eating half of it. I know that Islam and Christianity condemn such extravagance, if people here really feared God they would never be so extravagant.

In fact, over here in Canada, saying God’s name is discouraged. Anyone caught using the word God is told not to “use the Lord’s name in vain”! Great, have we come to such a day and age when we cannot remember our Lord? That really says something about the world’s problems.

Another example is the mining or resources in Africa. Giant foreign companies have poor children and families slave away, mining diamonds or other precious minerals. If the people running those companies feared God at all, would they exploit people like that?
I understand that many will say that my idea is far-fetched. I am proposing that the solution to the world’s problem is for everyone, or at least a great majority of people, to believe in God. But the opposition is also asking for something big. They are challenging God’s existence and asking God to solve all of our problems.

Why would God solve our problems if we don’t even believe in him?

Leave a Reply

